My Dearest Love

My Dearest Love,

Today, you sat down beside me and after pleasant conversation asked of me, something. You asked me to make you, the first priority in my life after my cats. I sat patiently beside you. Your pretty pink lips, formed word after word eloquently. Your black outlined eyes with uneven wings, looked at me wide open. Your nose flared when you sniffed as your cold made snot roll down the inside walls, and I sat beside you, listened and observed. Yes, it has been some time since I saw your face this close to mine. I had forgotten just how ugly you were and was reminded of all the strange pimples on your face. I would have counted them but I was distracted by what you said…

You? The first priority? And what gives you that kind of importance in my life? What makes you think that you can be The One? Perhaps You tend to think this because you are My Dearest Love. Is that the reason? Maybe… But I shall tell you something. Something that could be the truth of life. My Dearest Love, priorities can change. Just like I changed, when you changed.

My love. You have known me to be a logical person. Whenever you have messed up and have had problems that needed solving, I have been there to provide you with sensible answers, I hope. You have always welcomed my counsel and have listened to what I have had to say. So I was wondering- what made you think that I could suddenly make you my first priority. I was wrong however and for this I am sorry. I didn’t know. I didn’t pay attention enough.

When you finally confided in me, the switch was immediate. You became my first priority. And though I was doubtful before, afterwards I knew. There wasn’t a trace of that doubt left in my mind. You are my first priority. Without question. You are the reason I am working beyond what I usually do. You are my cause of worry, both before and now, but now even more so. I am not here to scold you. I am not here to tease you. I am not here to be anything but support in your time of distress.

I write this, hoping that you shall see it, read it, understand it. Like I said My Dearest Love, priorities, they change.

Yours always,

Me.

2 comments

  1. kindofhipster · August 29, 2016

    This makes me so sad

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aniruddha Deb · July 2, 2016

    This is a very good piece. Congratulations!

    Like

Leave a Reply

